Village Elections Finally Take Place

September 22, 2020

Former Clinton Trustee Carrie Evans was re-elected to the Village Board last week.


Evans, who resigned from the board in late June, was one of three candidates running for the two seats in the village. Trustee Thomas Firsching won another term with 53 votes, while Evans had 43. Richard Heintz II had 22 votes.


Waterville had no contested races. Brian Bogan was re-elected as a trustee with 31 votes and former Mayor James Younes was elected to the open trustee spot with 20 votes. Village Justice Robert McNamara earned another term with 35 votes.


In Oriskany Falls, trustees Doug Smorol (17 votes) and Jean White (18) were re-elected. Brian Warcup and Andrew Ecker each had five write-in votes.


The elections were originally scheduled for mid-March but postponed twice by the state due to Covid-19 concerns. Terms of office will be two years starting last March.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

For the full story, subscribe to the Paid Digital Edition of the newspaper by clicking the box below. The Waterville Times is also now on newsstands. For the closest location to you, please see the store listing on our home page. 


© 2020 by The Waterville Times-Helen Publishing