top of page

Clark Scholarships Given

For over 130 years the Clark Family has supported the educational pursuits of local students.

In the early 1880s, Alfred Corning Clark established The Edward C. Clark Punctuality Prize for students at Cooperstown schools with perfect scholastic attendance over a term. The students were allowed to select a book from a local bookstore. These prizes were awarded until 1961.

In the 1960s, The Scriven Foundation, named in honor of Elizabeth Scriven Clark, established The Scriven Scholarship Program to replace the Punctuality Prize. Scholarships of $1,000 went to the top two graduates of Cooperstown Central School. Gradually, the number and dollar amounts of scholarships increased.

The current Clark Foundation Scholarship Program was established in 1973 and absorbed The Scriven Scholarship Program. The Clark Foundation Scholarship has expanded to include nine additional school districts: Cherry Valley-Springfield, Edmeston, Laurens, Milford, Mount Markham, Owen D. Young, Richfield Springs, Schenevus, and Worcester plus the O.A.O.C. BOCES in Milford. In 2014 Gilbertsville-Mount Upton and Morris schools were added.

Clark Foundation President Jane Forbes Clark in a press release said the Board of Directors approved first-year college scholarship grants to 188 area students, totaling $742,600.

Students receive Clark Foundation Scholarships based on academic achievement, citizenship qualities and service to their communities and schools.

Nearly 700 already-enrolled college students will be eligible for renewal of Clark Foundation grants for the next academic year.

More than 14,800 students have participated in the program since its inception in 1961.

The Star will be highlighting the scholarship winners from Mount Markham Central School over the next weeks. See Page 8 for this week’s group.

The full story is in this week's edition of the newspaper. 

bottom of page